Tags

,

AlegriaOn Good Friday’s I tremble. Especially for the last eight years after I had a near death experience in 2008 (more on this in another post) On Good Friday I listen to a Black Spiritual hymn entitled “Were you there when they crucified my lord” The chorus of the song is Ohh, sometimes it causes me to tremble. Listening and singing to this song it takes me back to this Good Friday in 2008 and I still do tremble physically and spiritually.

I grew up in the United Church of Canada and returned to it when my girls when young and we wanted them to have a spiritual community to be a part of. For me Easter is the pinnacle of the church year. Death, life, renewal. The Good Friday service paying tribute to crucifixion of Jesus has always been a moving and emotional day for me.

The most moving ceremony I have ever participated in was in 2008 in a little town in El Salvador called Algeria, which translates in English as “Joy.” My girls who were teenagers at the time, and I were down with a youth group from our church to build houses for some of the poorest of poor in the country. As I mentioned earlier I had a brush with death when we first arrived and my second day out of the hospital was Good Friday. The group who were hosting us was church based in El Salvador. The Friday service was on a hillside above the community where we building the houses. For the service a cross was built out of wood from the construction site. (This where the picture is from) I still wince when I think about the sound of the nails being stuck into the wood to build the cross. While the cross was being assembled we were singing the hymn “Where you there … “ I wept, I trembled. I felt energies and connections that I had never felt before.

Many of us have dreams that are so intense we can remember the details of them years later. They are vision like. They are more lifelike than life itself. I do not have dreams like this. I have had a few visions in meditation similar to this. I have had few experiences like this, I was not sleeping, and I was not meditating.

On this good Friday I was transported back again to a hillside in Algeria where I trembled, and I tremble again just like I was there again.

Lyrics to Were You There When They Crucified My Lord”

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?
Oh were you there when they crucified my Lord?

(Ohh, sometimes it causes me to tremble)
Tremble
Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

Were you there when they nailed Him to the cross?
Were you there when they nailed Him to the cross?
(Ohh, sometimes it causes me to tremble)
Tremble
Were you there when they nailed Him to the cross?

Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb?
Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb?
(Ohh, sometimes it causes me to tremble)
Tremble
Were you there when they laid Him in the tomb?

Well, were you there when the stone was rolled away?
Were you there when the stone was rolled away?
(Ohh, sometimes it causes me to tremble)
Tremble
Were you there when the stone was rolled away?

